Print this page

Published: 27 February 2012

Search begins for champions of climate adaptation

A nationwide search has begun for Australian people, businesses and organisations who are championing practical and innovative ways to adapt to climate change.

Queensland floods, 12 January 2011. People, groups, organisations and companies that help Australians adapt to the effects of climate change, which are predicted to include more frequent extreme weather events, could be nominated for the Climate Adaptation Champions Awards.

The Climate Adaptation Champions Awards, run by Australia’s National Climate Change Adaptation Research Facility (NCCARF), aim to highlight the achievements of people taking concrete steps to change behaviour, techniques, businesses practices and policies to adapt to an uncertain future.

The public are invited to nominate people and groups from a variety of sectors and regions as potential ‘Champions’ for the 2012 Awards. Champions will receive free registration for the NCCARF National Adaptation Conference in Melbourne, 26–28 June, where they will accept their awards.

‘You may know of a people in your community, a volunteer group, a company or a government organisation that is finding new ways to manage climate impacts on their business or community,’ says Professor Jean Palutikof, NCCARF Director.

‘We want to hear about them and celebrate their initiative.’

Champions could be:

  1. excellent communicators or educators, actively communicating the knowledge needed for climate change adaptation;

  2. people, groups and governments actively involved in making decisions that take climate change impacts into account;

  3. leaders in their field, helping others to adapt to a changing climate, or

  4. inventors, designers and businesses leading the way with creative ways to adapt.

Champions will be chosen in four categories: individual, community, business and government. Nominees can be from all ages and backgrounds.

Inaugural 2011 Champions included a Queensland grazier, a Tasmanian journalist and a council planner from mid-coast NSW.

For more information and to nominate a ‘Champion’ visit

Nominations close 31 March 2012.

Source: NCCARF

ECOS Archive

Welcome to the ECOS Archive site which brings together 40 years of sustainability articles from 1974-2014.

For more recent ECOS articles visit the blog. You can also sign up to the email alert or RSS feed